Wednesday, 18 December 2013

Renewing Hope by Jennyfer Browne

Renewing Hope
The Second Novel in the In Your World Series
by Jennyfer Browne


Summary: 

The journey for Kate Hill and Nathan Fisher continues…

Kate Hill hopes to leave her English past behind her in order to be accepted by the Amish of West Grove, and marry her love, Nathan Fisher. But as she struggles to win over her Amish neighbors, she discovers that the sordid past of the Bishop’s son has caused a rift in the small community. Shunned for living the English lifestyle, Benjamin Yoder finds a friend in Kate, and wonders if there is hope in returning to the Amish life he misses.

Nathan Fisher wants his old friend, Benjamin, back with the Amish for many reasons- by forgiving Benjamin his English transgressions; surely the community will accept his Kate. With the Bishop’s steadfast obstinacy towards the English blight on his flock, it will be up to Kate and Nathan to heal their community by bringing home the son of the Bishop and renewing hope in the Amish through forgiveness.

Excerpt:

     It was nearly a week before Nathan finally convinced me to walk with him in the waning afternoon. I had run out of excuses to avoid the side of the barn that had once offered us a pleasured moment of privacy. Stepping off the porch with him I held myself stiffly as we walked toward the shade of the barn, my eyes watching the dead stalks for any movement other than the fluttering afternoon breeze.

     It was when I jumped at Nathan’s hand on mine that he frowned and stopped just out of sight of the house.

     “What is wrong?” he asked, concern etching his features. “You look fearful.”

     I swallowed and glanced past his shoulder to the mocking wave of corn. He glanced behind him, still confused.

     “That’s where he took me,” I whispered. “I haven’t been able to get that out of my head. I have nightmares.”

     Nathan’s eyes widened and he pulled me toward the house again with care.

     “I did not know it frightened you,” he said and continued to hold my hand with a protective grip, even in view of the house. As if daring propriety further, he leaned in and kissed me on my temple.

     “I will fix this,” he said and sat me back on the swing, his arm wrapped around me.

     Although it should have been avoided for propriety’s sake, I took comfort in his embrace. It pushed away the tension and for the rest of the night, I felt as safe as I should have when I was with him. I made a promise to myself when I went to bed that night to stand up to my fear so that Nathan wouldn’t have to worry about me.

     I was surprised the next morning when I stepped outside with Emma to milk the cows and discovered Nathan already in the field closest to the barn, his horses rigged up to one of Jonah’s larger machines, and already the first row of corn by the barn had been cleared from the earth. Behind him in the large wagon stood a man I recognized and was surprised to see working amongst the Amish.

     Benjamin Yoder. I remembered him from the Gathering, seemingly months ago. Benjamin was the old friend of Nathan’s who had helped find me.

     The Bishop’s son.

     He was still dressed in English clothes, his dark hair grown out since the last time I had seen him and a wavy mess from the work. It was obvious he knew how to work the machinery. I wasn’t quite sure why he was here, but as Nathan looked up and spoke to him, I could tell the two had somehow resolved their differences. They smiled and called out to one another, working well as a team to complete the task at hand. Both were already soaked in sweat and Nathan’s concentration was such that he didn’t even notice Emma and me standing to watch him.

     I jumped when I heard Jonah beside me.

     “I woke up to find them hitching up the horses,” he said and looked toward the machine as it drew near. “Nathan is a good man to you.”

     I nodded and felt my eyes burning as I stood there.

     Nathan was clearing the field because it frightened me.

About the Author:

Jennyfer Browne has always been a sucker for a good love story- a complex recipe with a dash of dashing, a pinch of heroism, and a hefty dose of outside forces that test young lovers. Seasoned with tears and laughter, followed by a sprinkle of happy sighs fill out the perfect recipe. 

Jennyfer also enjoys pie.

Ms. Browne lives in California with her wonderful husband and adoring son, where she enjoys the beach and sailing off on further adventures. A member of the Romance Writers of America and blessed with an overactive imagination, she writes sweet and savory romances with a twist of tart that always come to a happy ending.

Author Links:

 Amazon     |     FACEBOOK     |     Twitter     |     Website


Lexi's Review for Quintessentially Q by Pepper Winters


Quintessentially Q 
by Pepper Winters


Release Date: December 15th, 2013
Genre: New Adult Erotic Suspense Romance
Series Info: Book Two in the Monsters In The Dark Series


Summary:

“All my life, I battled with the knowledge I was twisted… fucked up to want something so deliciously dark—wrong on so many levels. But then slave fifty-eight entered my world. Hissing, fighting, with a core of iron, she showed me an existence where two wrongs make a right."

Tess is Q’s completely. Q is Tess’s irrevocably. But now, they must learn the boundaries of their unconventional relationship, while Tess seeks vengeance on the men who sold her. Q made a blood-oath to deliver their corpses at Tess’s feet, and that’s just what he’ll do.

He may be a monster, but he’s Tess’s monster. 

Lexi's Review: 

In Quintessentially Q, written by Pepper Winters, we are reading the continuation of Tess's and Quincy's lives. In this sequel, we got to take a peek into Q's mind, because one chapter is dedicated to Tess's mind and the other to Q's.

Tess and Q couldn't be more happy together. They finally could let themselves go in their throes of passion, but how long will their happy routine will last? When will Q finally appreciate Tess the way she deserves and realize what he is about to lose?

When I said Tears of Tess was the darkest book I've ever read, it was totally true, but now after I've read Quintessentially Q, I have to change my statement. QQ is ten times darker and more angsty than Tears of Tess. On one hand I'm happy about this because it made me even more curious of how things would come out, but on the other hand my heart contracts whenever the characters suffer.

Tess calls Q her monster in the dark because of all his dark thoughts and pleasures, and at a certain point in QQ I think that Q can call Tess, his monster in the dark as well. Tess is going through a very hard time in Quintessentially Q, and now I really believe that Pepper Winters likes to torture her characters. At one point, I really thought that Tess would switch places with Q. Whilst in the first book Tess is the one suffering the most, in the sequel, I believe they both are tortured equally, if not Q a bit more...

Q definitely shows his influence and power over others in his mission to save Tess. I grew a special fondness for Q. My heart throbbed every time I read his thoughts and internal struggles. I think I started to love Q not only for his suffering, but for the power of his love and for his determination to find Tess. And even though Q would be too intense for me in real life, I found the softer side of Q a lot more bearable and I wish he'd remain this soft for the rest of his life…but I know I might be delusional regarding this fact.

I think that the amount of sex in this book is considerably less, but do not take it as a negative remark. Quite the opposite, really. If there was more smut, the level of angst and action of the book would be less and that would have been a real disappointment. I think that Pepper Winters manages to combine the two characteristics perfectly in order to keep the reader with his heart in his throat.

I wasn't a fan of stories full of angst and pain, but after reading Tears of Tess I fell in love with this genre, and I think that everyone could come to love the genre after reading these beautifully written books. Even if you don't come to love the genre, you will definitely appreciate the author’s writing that leaves me speechless every time. She describes every living emotion and view to the smallest detail. And don’t get me started on the very elegant and refined covers.

I recommend this awesome novel to anyone that likes full of angst books! I definitely enjoyed it. :)

Rating: 


About the Author: 

Pepper Winters wears many roles. Some of them include writer, reader, sometimes wife. She loves dark, taboo stories that twist with your head. The more tortured the hero, the better, and she constantly thinks up ways to break and fix her characters. Oh, and sex… her books have sex. 

She loves to travel and has an amazing, fabulous hubby who puts up with her love affair with her book boyfriends. 

Her debut book Tears of Tess will be followed with Quintessentially Q. You didn’t think Q could stop so soon, did you? Her other two titles, Last Shadow and Broken Chance will be coming soon. 



Author Links:

Website     |     Twitter     |     Facebook     |     Goodreads     |     Pinterest

Giveaways:






Tuesday, 17 December 2013

Sally's Review of Desire by B.L. Wilde


Desire (The Seductors Series Vol. 1)
by B.L. Wilde

Genre: Erotica
Release Date: December 6, 2013
Cover Design by Jo Matthews
Summary:

Jade has worked as a Seductor in a secret organization for five years now. Her main job? To earn the trust of her targets and secure the object or information her company was hired to steal—by any means necessary. She’s damn good at it, too. With five years left on her contract, she is handed an assignment that turns her world upside down.

Oliver Kirkham is the attractive, young CEO of Kirkham Industries, a weapons manufacturing company, and is currently in possession of some very important blueprints—blueprints that could change the way war, as we know it, works. He’s extremely focused and doesn’t have time to date, at least until he comes to the rescue of a shy but very alluring Jade Gibbs.

What happens when one night of passion turns into more? Will Jade allow her feelings for Oliver to get in the way of her mission? Or will she do what she was hired to do and secure the steal?

Sally's Review:

B.L. Wilde definitely gives erotica authors a run for their money with this book!

I was hooked on from the prologue and just could not put this book down! It is amazing! We meet Jade, a Seductor in a secret organization hired to obtain information or items by wealthy clients. She's five years into her contract and is the best at her job—at least until she's assigned a certain hottie CEO as her next target. Oliver Kirkham is a young entrepreneur and CEO of his family's company, taking over from his father at a young age. Sparks fly right off the page when these two meet and you'll definitely find yourself in need of a nice tall glass of water to cool off.

Although this story has a lot of fantastic, extremely HOT sex scenes that leave you panting for more, it's not overdone like some of today's erotica authors. There's a perfect balance of lust, sex, and plot. Some characters make you fall in love with them from the beginning, and others make you want to reach into the page and ring their scrawny little necks.

When you read Desire, you'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll need a few cold showers, and you'll scream when the book ends, not wanting to believe that Miss Wilde would leave it where she did. There was no other way it could be though, and when you read it, you'll understand. The good news is that there's a book two already in the works and it will definitely be on my list to get the day it comes out!!

So thank you, B.L. Wilde for this incredible book that I've now read more times than I care to admit! Desire has it ALL!!! And dare I say it...yes, I do!

In my humble opinion, it's 1000x better than 50 Shades of Grey!

Rating:

Excerpt:

“I have a priority mission I want you to take, Jade. The rewards for this one are huge,” she explained as she passed the paperwork over to me. “It’s going to take a few months of hard work to infiltrate the actual home of Mr. Kirkham. As you can see, he owns quite a few properties, but only one of the locations houses the main hard drive that our client needs. I’m sure you can use your talents as an advantage to find out which one, though.” I laughed, knowing exactly what Sonia meant. I was one of her top Seductors, after all. In the last five years, I had made over fifty million dollars for the company. My looks helped…a lot. I was your typical perfect blonde with clear blue eyes and legs that went on forever. Men fell for my innocent act, but I was no angel in real life. It never took a target long to find that out, either. Especially if I chose to take them to bed to gain access to what I’d been assigned to steal. I didn’t always need to go the whole way, though—I was just that good.

Sonia was the top dog at the Seductors, and she reported straight to the owner of the organization. I guess you could describe our headquarters in Florida a little like the playboy mansion, except we had guys here, too, and all of us were trained to defend ourselves if we needed to. Rule #6: Seductors must make sure they are always able to protect themselves from any sudden danger. A monthly refresher is mandatory to renew certification.

I could only speculate that our founder must have once been a secret agent or in the FBI in the past, because the contacts this organization had could rival that of the Secret Service. I was still trying to work out if that person was a male or female, but either way, our founder was a genius.

As I sat in front of Sonia, I began to look closely over the paperwork. My new target was a Mr. Oliver Kirkham of Kirkham Industries. He wasn’t a bad looking guy according to the picture in his file: tall, dark and handsome—just the way I liked them. His income stats weren’t too bad, either. Half a billion dollars in net profits last year. Damn, that was a lot of money. He had no partner at the moment, although he had been linked to quite a few women over the last few years. Nothing appeared too serious, however, which was interesting.

It seemed I’d need to travel a bit to track this Mr. Kirkham down. London and New York seemed to be popular places for him.

“When do I leave?” I asked Sonia while I was still reading Mr. Kirkham’s file.

“He’s due in London next weekend to head up an industrial conference.”

“Now, that sounds like fun,” I teased.

“I’m sure you’ll be able to liven up his visit, Jade,” Sonia winked. “Make sure you read that file carefully. We have a lot of money riding on this contract, so we can’t afford any mistakes.”

“Have I ever let you down?” I pointed out.

“Why do you think I’ve put you on this assignment? When do you think you’ll complete the job you’re on right now?”

“I’ll have the diamonds by tomorrow evening,” I smirked.

“That quickly?” Sonia looked impressed, but then I had only been on the job for two weeks.

“It’s an easy steal. I made first contact yesterday, and of course we hit it off. I’m meeting him at his house tomorrow,” I replied.

“You’re ruthless, Jade,” Sonia grinned before dismissing me.

As I continued to study my new file, it became clear that Mr. Kirkham was big in the weapons industry. Our client wanted the blueprints for a new machine—the S1030—that was being designed by his company. No wonder this was such a big payout for us.

I had no conscience when it came to stealing, nor did I know who wanted these blueprints. Clients had the choice of remaining anonymous to the chosen Seductor—as was the case with this job—but I never thought about the outcome anyway. This was business. It was all about the money, and this deal was worth five million dollars. It was the biggest mission I’d ever been assigned to, and I would succeed. There was no doubt in my mind.

It would be really nice to work on just one case for a few months without having to worry about other assignments; sometimes I felt like a prostitute when I was tasked with seducing more than one target at the same time. This Oliver was becoming more pleasing to the eye each time I gazed at him.

Oh, this could even be fun!

About the Author:

B.L. Wilde is a British author obsessed with many things, including heated love stories. Supported fully by her husband, she can often be found at her desk working on her next project.

Her journey into the world of erotica began when she started writing online stories over three years ago, and she hasn't looked back since.


Author Links:

Goodreads     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Blog     |     Website


Buy Links:

Amazon      |     Amazon UK     |     Smashwords     |     B&N




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, 16 December 2013

Lexi's Review of Desire (The Seductors Series Vol. 1) by B.L. Wilde


Desire (The Seductors Series Vol. 1)
by B.L. Wilde

Genre: Erotica
Cover Design: Jo Matthews

Summary: 

Jade has worked as a Seductor in a secret organization for five years now. Her main job? To earn the trust of her targets and secure the object or information her company was hired to steal—by any means necessary. She’s damn good at it, too. With five years left on her contract, she is handed an assignment that turns her world upside down.

Oliver Kirkham is the attractive, young CEO of Kirkham Industries, a weapons manufacturing company, and is currently in possession of some very important blueprints—blueprints that could change the way war, as we know it, works. He’s extremely focused and doesn’t have time to date, at least until he comes to the rescue of a shy but very alluring Jade Gibbs.

What happens when one night of passion turns into more? Will Jade allow her feelings for Oliver to get in the way of her mission? Or will she do what she was hired to do and secure the steal?


Lexi's Review:

In Desire by B. L. Wilde, we have the pleasure to go alongside Jade Phillips—Jade Gibbs in this situation—in her mission as a Seductor to steal something from a very important target, Oliver Kirkham, a beautiful and wealthy CEO.

Jade is the best at her job; she can make anyone fall at her feet with a bat of an eye, and she does just that with Oliver. But being the best in your line of work, and always respecting the rules, can get tricky after five years of doing it, especially when your target is Mister Kirkham.

“WOW!!” That was my very first thought after I have finished Desire. I cannot tell you in words how much I liked it! Even though this book had a lot of sex scenes, I think that the amount of erotica, combined with the actual plot is just perfect. I wish more erotica authors would take notes and read this book to see when the amount of sex is enough and switch to the plot. I think it is physically impossible for Oliver to go at it so many times in one night, but hey, he does represent the image of the perfect man!

Jade’s appearance can be compared with one of an angel. She is a tall blonde with clear blue eyes. She is the image of perfection! But also, with her beauty comes her intelligence, confidence, power and focus. *sigh* I wish I were like her. She has every man at her feet, but sadly she doesn’t give in to anyone.

I have fallen deeply for Oliver. I love how gentle, caring and loving the powerful CEO is. As he always says, wealth doesn’t define him, and I definitely saw that. Mister Kirkham is absolutely taken with Jade, and my heart couldn’t break more at the thought of him getting his heart shattered. B.L. Wilde managed very well to describe indirectly and directly Oliver’s feelings for Jade, and I wish he doesn’t ever find out what she really is doing.

Throughout the whole book, I wished Jade would let herself go and fall for Oliver. I am sure she has some feelings for him, and I wish we weren’t left with such a cliffhanger and saw what she really thought of him. My only drawback about this book is its ending. When I read the last page and intended to turn to the next one, I was profoundly disappointed to see that it ended. So, Miss Wilde, please hurry up and finish writing the sequel, ‘cause I am ready to read it!

All in all, I loved Desire! Bee Wilde managed to describe the characters, places, actions *wink wink* *nudge nudge* perfectly! Honestly, I cannot wait for the sequel to see what happens to Jade and Oliver. What were his thoughts waking up, and what will Jade do now? This novel is a real must for every erotica lover, and even to those who are not as passionate about it, but look for a fun drama-romance read.

Rating: 

Excerpt: 

     Oliver wined and dined me with style. The conversation flowed effortlessly, and a few hours later we were back in the bar having a nightcap.
     “I really can’t thank you enough for dinner, Oliver.”
     “It was my pleasure, Jade. I’ve enjoyed your companionship immensely tonight.”
     “Do you really own your own company?”
     “Why do you ask that?” he chuckled into his coffee.
     “You’re so young and…fun. I thought CEOs were supposed to be bald with beer bellies, and be too stressed out to even crack a smile.”
     “Are those the kind of CEOs you have as your clients?”
     “Yes,” I laughed.
     “These interior art skills of yours—how much do they cost?”
     “Are you interested in utilizing my skills, Oliver?”
     “I’m very interested, Miss Gibbs.” Oliver’s look became almost predatory.
     “Maybe we should take this conversation elsewhere, then?” I suggested, looking around the bar.
     “Where did you have in mind?” he asked, moving a little closer, his hand lightly skimming my leg.
     “I was thinking of retiring for the night. It’s getting quite late,” I breathed, stretching out to play with his tie.
     “Alone?”
     “Actually, I was kind of hoping for some company,” I whispered timidly, pushing off my stool and slowly walking toward the lobby area. Counting to five, I turned to see Oliver walking toward me, looking dark and dangerously handsome. I was actually looking forward to seeing if this guy was any good in bed.
     I pushed the button for the elevator and leaned against the wall just as he caught up with me.
     “I hope I’m reading these signs correctly,” he grinned just as the elevator doors opened. With a small grin, I stepped in and pulled him with me. Oliver crashed his lips against mine right as the doors closed behind us.
     Kissing was second nature to me. I could fake desire, even if it felt like I was kissing a wet fish, but as Oliver lifted me by my ass and pinned me against the elevator wall, I groaned in actual pleasure. I didn’t have to fake it. Desire flooded through my veins as I ran my hands into his dark hair.
     “Christ, you’re beautiful,” he groaned, his lips moving down my neck while his hands began to fumble for the hem of my dress. I was about to start dry humping the guy if he kept on like he was.
     “Ugh…” I groaned as his hands worked their way under my dress and he gripped my ass cheeks roughly. “Oliver…ugh…which floor?” He leaned toward the elevator buttons with me still wrapped around him, and pressed a button before quickly returning to attacking my neck.
     “I saw you the moment I walked into the bar tonight,” he purred, his hands running slowly down my chest. Both my legs were wrapped around his waist. “And I wanted you.”
     “Ugh…I…I’m flattered,” I said, forcing a blush. The elevator opened and Oliver finally let me go. As I slid down his body, I could feel his muscles through his shirt. Mm…it really was going to be a fun few months.
     “I want you to know I don’t usually do this sort of thing,” I muttered, playing with the zipper on my purse while he opened his bedroom door.
     “Neither do I.” He shook his head as if to clear it from a random thought, and somehow, I didn’t believe him. He was too smooth and confident to have never picked a girl up in a bar before.
     “Wow, your room is so much bigger than mine!” I acted awestruck, gazing around as I placed my bag on a table. “Is this just the living area?” I gasped, turning to see that he was suddenly right in front of me. He responded by crashing his lips against mine while backing me against the wall.
     “I don’t want to make small talk anymore. I just want to fuck you, Jade,” he growled into my ear. Holy crap! I was so turned on; I could feel the wetness between my legs begin to flow. His hands came back up underneath my dress, but rather than grab my ass like he had in the elevator, he simply pulled my panties down. “Do you want me to fuck you?”
     “YES!” It was a plea, because in that moment, I’d never wanted anything more. I heard his belt buckle and the sound of foil before he was suddenly slamming me hard against the wall. Fuck, I’d dreamed of being taken this way, but never once had I thought it would happen. Who was this guy?
     “I’m going to make you cum harder than you’ve ever cum before,” he smoldered into my ear. His fingers slowly teased my entrance and I arched my back, needing more. “I can feel how much you want this. I know your kind—shy and withdrawn. Let me free you. Let me release the desire I know is inside you.” Oh, this guy had no idea just how much desire was inside me. I wrapped my legs tightly around his waist, drawing him toward me before I bit down on his neck.
     “Fuck, yes,” Oliver growled, and with one deep thrust he was inside me.
     I’d never been fucked this hard before. I was wanton. I needed everything the guy could give me as he slammed into me over and over again while I was pinned against the wall. “You feel so good,” he panted between thrusts.
     “Fuck me harder!” I was totally breaking character, but I’d never had a man bring me to orgasm without my help before, and right now, I needed that moment more than the air I breathed.
     “Harder? You better brace yourself then.” Oliver gripped my legs and rotated his hips before pushing deeper and faster inside me.
     Before I could make sense of what was happening, I felt myself begin to build—the feeling becoming warmer and more intense with each of his movements. This guy was going to make me cum. Jade Phillips—top Seductor—was finally going to cum by the power of a man!
     “Give it to me, Jade. Don’t you fucking dare deny yourself!” Oliver could feel my orgasm begin to take control, so he slid his fingers between us, circling my clit to help ease my release out.
     When I did explode, it was earth shattering.
     “Ugh…fuck…fuck…fuck,” I groaned, my entire body trembling.
     Oliver continued to pound into me until he found his own release. “Fuck, yes, Jade…ugh…ugh…I knew you’d make me cum this hard!” Oh my God! He looked so hot when he climaxed.
     I was still pinned against the wall, held up by his arms as we regulated our breathing.
     “You see?” Oliver finally spoke. “I knew there was a wild girl in there somewhere.”

About the Author:

B.L. Wilde is a British author obsessed with many things, including heated love stories. Supported fully by her husband, she can often be found at her desk working on her next project.

Her journey into the world of erotica began when she started writing online stories over three years ago, and she hasn't looked back since.


Author Links:
Goodreads     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Blog     |     Website


Buy Links:

Amazon     |     Amazon UK     |     Smashwords     |     B&N





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, 13 December 2013

Review of Tears of Heaven (Urban Fantasy) From R.A. McCandless

Tears of Heaven

Urban Fantasy
From R.A. McCandless


In the past, the children of angels and humans, the Nephilim, were allowed to lead their lives as they willed.  But they proved too strong, too ambitious, and too cunning for their own good.  They became warlords, conquerors and emperors.  They caused war and strife until the Throne stepped in and forced them to submit to Its will, or die.

Unlike most of her fellows, Del, one of the first Nephilim, had no interest in conquest and domination.  In the ancient past, prior to the Throne’s interdiction, she met and fell in love with Dami, a Mediterranean ship captain and trader.  Together, they face down pirates and storms and try to create a future together.

In the present, Del unwillingly works for the Throne, obeying the commands of the angel Ahadiel.  She helps to keep the world safe from the horrors of escaped demons.  At the same time, she keeps herself in the Throne’s good graces.  Whenever a rogue demon breaks free from Hell, she and her partner, Marrin, another Nephilim, work together to banish it.

Thrilling danger, fast-paced adventure, high-seas action, and heart-warming romance fill this novel, with a page-turning story that won’t let you put it down.
December 2013


Heathers Review 

First off, I want to say that I’m ashamed at myself for putting this book off for so long.  Not sure why I couldn’t make myself actually start it, supernatural is right up my alley, for whatever unknown reason I procrastinated but once I started it, I truly could not put it down.

Tears is an amazing blend of character development and storytelling, using many elements to create an intriguing tale that I think will easily appeal to both male and female readers, especially those who love supernatural/fantasy genre.  I found it immensely interesting, and enjoyed, the author’s use of ideology (or what some might consider theology a more accurate term) to further both the character and story advancement.  I often found myself wondering about things in my own life or how I look at parts of life but at no time did I feel that the author was preaching to me or trying to make me think about life.

I find it rare to find a book that so evenly blends so many genres and actually make it work.  There is action, adventure, history, mythology (some might narrow it down to theology), and romance that leaves you wanting more and feeling complete all at once.

As someone who has been reading science fiction/fantasy since birth practically, I’ve never had a difficult time with the odd names and terminology but I know that many can.   I found the author’s writing style took a lot of that odd feeling away and you feel like you’re reading everyday names and terms.

Rating: Five Honey Pots

Thursday, 5 December 2013

Cover Reveal for Renewing Hope by Jennyfer Brown




Summary:

The journey for Kate Hill and Nathan Fisher continues…

Kate Hill hopes to leave her English past behind her in order to be accepted by the Amish of West Grove, and marry her love, Nathan Fisher. But as she struggles to win over her Amish neighbors, she discovers that the sordid past of the Bishop’s son has caused a rift in the small community. Shunned for living the English lifestyle, Benjamin Yoder finds a friend in Kate, and wonders if there is hope in returning to the Amish life he misses.

Nathan Fisher wants his old friend, Benjamin, back with the Amish for many reasons- by forgiving Benjamin his English transgressions; surely the community will accept his Kate. With the Bishop’s steadfast obstinacy towards the English blight on his flock, it will be up to Kate and Nathan to heal their community by bringing home the son of the Bishop and renewing hope in the Amish through forgiveness.

Excerpt: 

Perhaps this was the last test for members wishing to join the Amish- supper with the Bishop’s family to dissect the candidates one last time. So as the men entered the kitchen, with Nathan and Benjamin nervous under the Bishop’s critical eye, I tried my best to show everyone all that I had learned and lived by.
I was quiet.
I prepared a plate for the Bishop before anyone else.
I kept my gaze solidly on my water glass unless spoken to.
I spoke softly.
I didn’t dare look up at Nathan although I could feel his eyes on me.
I could feel every eye on me.
“What do you plan for the spring, Nathan?” I heard the Bishop ask halfway through the meal.
“I hope to increase my crops for the spring,” he said, his voice timid. “Perhaps wheat this year, or soy.”
“How do you plan to do more when it is only you?” he asked.
Nathan cleared his throat and I could hear his fork slide on his plate.
“I have hope that I will not be alone come spring.”
The room was quiet for a moment, the only sound that of chewing and forks along dishes.
“My son has his job at the mill. I do not see him offering much aid come spring.”
“No sir, I do not intend to rely on Benjamin to help in my tasks,” Nathan replied and cleared his throat again. “I hope to have my wife to help.”
Another awkward silence.
“And if you do not marry?” the Bishop asked. “You have hardly any stores for winter now. Jonah has taken your livestock to help you, but even he cannot support you.”
“I intend to marry, Bishop Yoder.”
I made the mistake of chancing a glance around the table, my eyes going wide at the scene.
Nathan stared intently at the Bishop who waged his own war glaring at me, while Benjamin looked to his mother for help. Naomi was the only smart one in the group, keeping her eyes on her peas as she pushed them around on her plate. Finally the Bishop’s wife let out a noise and placed a hand on her husbands arm, pulling his searing gaze from me.
“It is time for Nathan Fisher to marry. That house has seen its mourning. It is time to fill it with children once more,” she said and smiled my way. “Katherine Hill may have a past we do not know, but she has brought our son home and his friend back from a darkness that would have swallowed him. I look forward to spending time in the sewing circle with her.”
The Bishop turned his gaze slowly back toward me, his look an unreadable mask once more as he spoke.
 “We shall see.”

About the Author: 

     Jennyfer Browne has always been a sucker for a good love story- a complex recipe with a dash of dashing, a pinch of heroism, and a hefty dose of outside forces that test young lovers. Seasoned with tears and laughter, followed by a sprinkle of happy sighs fill out the perfect recipe.
     Jennyfer also enjoys pie.
     Ms. Browne lives in California with her wonderful husband and adoring son, where she enjoys the beach and sailing off on further adventures. A member of the Romance Writers of America and blessed with an overactive imagination, she writes sweet and savory romances with a twist of tart that always come to a happy ending.

Author Links:

FACEBOOK     |     Twitter     |     Website